

LONDON BOROUGH OF ENFIELD

AGENDA FOR THE SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING TO BE HELD ON THURSDAY, 24TH MAY, 2012 AT 7.00 PM



THE WORSHIPFUL THE MAYOR

AND COUNCILLORS OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF ENFIELD

Please

Repy to: James Kinsella

Phone: (020) 8379 4041 **Fax:** (020) 8379 3177

Fax: (020) 8379 3177 **Textphone:** (020) 8379 4419

E-mail: James.Kinsella@enfield.gov.uk

My Ref: DST/JK

Date: 15 May 2012

Dear Councillor,

You are summoned to attend the Special meeting of the Council of the London Borough of Enfield to be held at the Civic Centre, Silver Street, Enfield on Thursday, 24th May, 2012 at 7.00 pm for the purpose of transacting the business set out below.

Yours sincerely

J.P.Austin

Assistant Director, Corporate Governance

- 1. ELECTION (IF REQUIRED) OF THE CHAIR/DEPUTY CHAIR OF THE MEETING
- 2. APOLOGIES
- 3. DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

Members of the Council are invited to identify any personal or prejudicial interests relevant to items on the agenda.

4. HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF ENFIELD - CEREMONY

Order of Proceedings

THE MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL and invited Guests to be seated in the Council Chamber prior to 7.00p.m.

HER WORSHIP THE MAYOR (Councillor Kate Anolue) preceded by the Mace, accompanied by the Assistant Director Corporate Governance, The

Deputy Mayor (Councillor Chaudhury Anwar MBE) will enter the Council Chamber and take their seats on the dais.

THE MAYOR will welcome guests to the meeting and call upon Councillor Doug Taylor (Leader of the Council) to move the following motion and to invite the Council to confer the Freedom of the Borough upon the following:

"THAT in pursuance of the Local Government Act 1972 THE HONORARY FREEDOM OF THE LONDON BOROUGH OF ENFIELD be conferred upon

Alex Mattingly

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution as a councillor to personnel issues and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

Bevin Betton

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to community relations as Chair of Enfield Racial Equality Council and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

Geoffrey Mills

In recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to education and as independent chair of the Council's Standards Committee and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held

Jeff Rodin

In recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution as Leader of the Council and as a councillor and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

John Boast

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution as a councillor to education and housing and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held

Norma Morris

in recognition of her long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For her outstanding contribution to the local arts community working for Chickenshed and as an expression of the high esteem in which she is held.

Rita Miller

in recognition of her long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For her outstanding contribution to the voluntary sector, in particular the Women's Voluntary Service and Dr Johnson's House and as an expression of the high esteem in which she is held.

Dr Stephen Dowbiggin OBE

In recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution to education as Chief Executive & Principal of Capel Manor College and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

Tony Dey

in recognition of his long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For his outstanding contribution as a councillor to planning and conservation and as an expression of the high esteem in which he is held.

Vivien Giladi

in recognition of her long and valuable service to the community in the Borough. For her outstanding contribution as a councillor to health and as an expression of the high esteem in which she is held.

THE MAYOR will invite Councillor Michael Lavender (Leader of the Opposition) to second the motion and to say a few words.

THE MAYOR will invite the Council to agree the motion.

THE MAYOR will call upon the Chief Executive to administer the Oath of an Honorary Freeman to the ten new Honorary Freeman as follows:

"Do you, Alex Mattingly, Bevin Betton, Geoffrey Mills, Jeff Rodin, John Boast, Norma Morris, Rita Miller, Dr Stephen Dowbiggin OBE, Tony Dey and Vivien Giladi.

Solemnly and sincerely declare that you will abide in peace and tranquillity within the London Borough of Enfield, and with all those who have their lawful business within its bounds, including the Mayor and Council, whom you will aid with your best counsel and advice, and uphold and defend the provisions of the Charter granted by our Sovereign Lady Queen Elizabeth the Second, and all observances and customs of this London Borough defend and keep."

The Honorary Freeman will answer together "I do".

THE MAYOR will rise and say to each of the new ten Honorary Freeman, separately in turn, namely Alex Mattingly, Bevin Betton, Geoffrey Mills, Jeff Rodin, John Boast, Norma Morris, Rita Miller, Dr Stephen Dowbiggin OBE, Tony Dey and Vivien Giladi.:

"......(full name)...........Honorary Freeman of the London Borough of Enfield, in accordance with the ancient custom I give you the hand of Friendship as an Honorary Freeman of the London Borough and I now invite you to sign the Roll of Honorary Freemen and to accept this Badge and certificate of Freedom".

After each of the new Honorary Freemen has signed the Roll of Honorary Freemen, and it has been witnessed by the Mayor and the Chief Executive, **THE MAYOR** will hand to each Freeman in turn their badge and certificate.

THE MAYOR will invite the new Honorary Freeman to address the meeting, if they wish.

THE MAYOR will then declare the meeting closed and will invite guests to proceed for refreshments to the Conference Room.

THE MAYOR, preceded by the Mace, accompanied by the Assistant Director Corporate Governance, followed by the Deputy Mayor, will leave the Council Chamber.